Sussex Cricket Volunteers Honoured at OSCAs

Around 100 volunteers from the recreational game in Sussex gathered on Friday night (15th September) at The 1st Central County Ground for the NatWest Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards (OSCAs).

Each year, the Sussex Cricket Foundation (SCF) host those who have been nominated by fellow volunteers for making a huge contribution to the development of cricket in their area.

This year, the SCF added the ‘All Stars Cricket Activator of the Year’ to the awards list, to honour those who put so much effort into making the ECB initiative for 5-8 year-olds a success. Alan Carroll and his team from Cuckfield CC took the inaugural award for inspiring 93 youngsters to take part and enjoy the game.

Graham Radford of Felbridge & Sunnyside CC took the prestigious H.A. Collison Lifetime Achiever award home with him for his 45-year service to the club and has been shortlisted for the national award.

Phil Merritt and Jim Saunders were also commended for their efforts for saving another cricketer’s life in a Sussex Seniors fixture this season.

Sussex Cricket Chief Executive, Rob Andrew, Director of Cricket, Keith Greenfield and Sussex CCC professional, Steve Magoffin joined the volunteers and presented the winners with their awards.

Reflecting on the evening, Sussex Cricket Foundation Chairman, Jon Filby said: “Sussex Cricket’s purpose is to create passion for cricket in the county.
“On Friday evening, we were able to recognise people who love cricket and through cricket make a great contribution to the community in which they live.”

The full list of winners of the 2017 Sussex OSCAs are:

SCF VolunteersGroundsman of the Year (Sussex Award) – Graham Page (Lindfield CC)
All Stars Activator of the Year (Sussex Award) – Alan Carroll (Cuckfield CC)
Officials Award – Roger Hanlon (Rottingdean CC)
Get the Game On Award – Dave Burt (Ansty Ladies CC)
Leagues Award – Steve Johnson (West Sussex Invitation Cricket League)
Young Volunteer of the Year – Josh Jones (Crowhurst Park CC)
Heartbeat of the Club – Rob & Karen Unwin (Fernhurst CC)
H.A. Collison Lifetime Achiever – Graham Radford (Felbridge & Sunnyside CC)

Each of the winners will be invited the National ceremony at Lord’s on Monday 9th October.