Sussex Sports Awards 2016 Winners Celebrated

The winners have been crowned at the 14th annual Sussex Sports Awards, held at The Grand Hotel, Brighton, on Friday 25 November.

The black tie event celebrated the achievements of Sussex sports stars and welcomed special guest, fresh back from Rio, and a five-time Olympian, Jo Pavey, and regular host, BBC Sussex presenter Danny Pike.Sussex sports awards

The winners of the 15 award categories were as follows:

Active Workplace Award: Stelfox

Community Impact Award: Sports for All

Primary School of the Year: Lyminster Primary School

Coach of the Year: Kim Milnthorpe

Sussex County FA Volunteer of the Year: Helen Courtney

The Grand Hotel Club of the Year: Withdean Youth Football Club

University of Brighton Disabled Sports Personality of the Year: Simon Munn

Sport England Outstanding Contribution to Sport Award: David Bowden

Freedom Leisure Sports Personality of the Year: Katie-George Dunlevy

Rix & Kay Solicitors LLP Team of the Year: Heartbeat United FC

BBC Sussex Unsung Hero Award: Jim Burroughs

Young Sports Personality of the Year: Archie Davis

Juice 107.2 Young Team of the Year: Worthing RFC Colts (Under 17s)

The Latest TV Young Volunteer of the Year: Emily Goss

Special Recognition Award for participants at Rio 2016: Seb Rodger, Ben Jesson, Amy Wilson-Hardy, Will Bayley, Faye McClelland, Heather Olver, Jade Lally, Katie-George Dunlevy, Jess Walker, Pete Mitchell, Simon Munn, Steve Scott, Tom Mitchell and Helena Lucas