Sussex Sports Awards 2017 Finalists Announced

After a week reviewing hundreds of nominations, the Sussex Sports Awards judges have announced their shortlisted finalists for the 2017 awards. The winners will be announced on Friday 17 November at The Grand Hotel, Brighton.

Sussex Sports Awards

Witness BTN Community Impact Award

Crawley Old Girls (COGS)
Beat the Street (East Sussex County Council)
START Wellbeing

The Grand Hotel Club of the Year

Worthing Gymnastics Club
Bexhill Swimming Club
Worthing Town Football Club

Coach of the Year

Rachel McCartain (Middleton Hockey Club)
Emily Nemeth (Sussex Netball Club)
Kevin Smith (Hollington United Football Club)

University of Brighton Disabled Sports Personality of the Year

Chris Baily (Tennis)
Katie-George Dunlevy (Cycling)
Liam O’Brien (Cricket)

Sport England Outstanding Contribution to Sport Award

Sandy Fell
Sarah Hogg
Celia Bartram

Southern Water Primary School of the Year

Herstmonceux CE Primary School
Arundel Primary School
Hankham Primary School

Freedom Leisure Sports Personality of the Year

Emma Dixon (Athletics)
Katie-George Dunlvey (Cycling)
Kirsty Stewart (Swimming)

Rix & Kay Solicitors LLP Team of the Year

Bexhill College Women’s Volleyball Team
East Grinstead Lacrosse Club Women’s 1st Team
Worthing Town Football Club Inclusive Football Team

BBC Sussex Unsung Hero Award

Lawrie Parsons (Mid Sussex Football League)
Les Kempster (Sussex County FA & Mid Sussex Youth & Minor Football League)
Sheila Martin (Sussex Netball Club)

Sussex County FA Volunteer of the Year

Luke Boorer (Hellingly Hound Dogs Youth American Football Club)
Marnie Williams (Storm Basketball Club)
Eric Douglin (Bexhill Giants Basketball Club)

Young Sports Personality of the Year

Ben Hawkes (Worthing Harriers Athletics Club)
Jemimah Berkeley (RTW Monson Swimming Club)
Ethan Fincham (Team Synergy Running Club)

Juice 107.2 Young Volunteer of the Year

Beth Garner (Sussex County FA Youth Council)
Megan Lloyd (University of Sussex Athletics Club)
Louis Willard (Littlehampton Area Sports Partnership & Sport Without Boundaries)